U.S. Department of Labor

Mine Safety and Health Administration 201 12th Street South Arlington, Virginia 22202-5452



OCT 3 0 2015

MEMORANDUM FOR NEAL H. MERRIFIELD

Administrator for Metal and

Nonmetal Mine Safety and Health

FROM:

JEFFREY A. DUNCAN

Committee Chair

Director for Educational Policy and Development

HEIDIW. STRASSLER Heid- W. Stran

Associate Solicitor for Mine Safety and Health

REGINALD J. RICHARDS

Acting Director of Technical Support

NANCY M. SAHAKIAN, M.D.

Senior Program Management Consultant, Clinical Operations, Federal Occupational Health Service, United States Public

Health Service

SYED HAFEEZ

Director, Program ⊭valuation and Information

SUBJECT:

Chargeability Review Committee Decision

Case No.: 2015-M-09-I

Deceased:

Date of Incident: April 15, 2015

Date of Death: April 17, 2015

Operator: Hanson Aggregates

Davon, LLC.

Mine: Eagle Crushed Stone

Contractor: Clark Trucking

Decision: Not chargeable

In a unanimous decision, the Chargeability Review Committee has determined that the death of should not be charged to the mining industry. Mr. a 54-year-old contract truck driver, was picking up a load of material at the mine when he radioed his supervisor that he wasn't feeling well. He parked his truck, exited the cab, and sat on the last step of the ladder. He then collapsed to the ground. Co-workers began CPR. Emergency response personnel arrived and he regained consciousness. He was transported to a local hospital and then was transferred to a regional hospital. He died several days later.

The death certificate indicated that the death was due to ischemic cardiomyopathy secondary to coronary artery disease and congestive heart failure. An autopsy was not performed. MSHA's investigation did not find any physical or environmental factors that could have contributed to the death.

Based on the death certificate and MSHA investigation, the committee members concluded that Mr. died due to natural causes and that his death should not be charged to the mining industry.

cc: Joseph A. Main Patricia W. Silvey Laura V. McClintock