Skip to content
DOL News Release No. 04-1601-NAT
U.S. Department of Labor
Contact: Rodney Brown
Phone: (202) 693-9400

Released Tuesday, August 17, 2004

Mine Safety Group to Unveil New National Miner Recognition Program

ARLINGTON, Va. -A newly developed national program to recognize American miners who work safely on the job will be unveiled at the National Mine Health and Safety Academy in Beckley, W.Va., on Thursday, Aug. 19, 2004, at 10:00 a.m. The event will recognize the first miners from the state of West Virginia, among others, to be named "Professional Miners," as designated by the Joseph A. Holmes Safety Association and the Mine Safety and Health Administration (MSHA).

Doug Conaway, director of the West Virginia Office of Miners' Health, Safety and Training, and recently elected president for the Joseph A. Holmes Safety Association; along with Dave D. Lauriski, assistant secretary of labor for mine safety and health, will make the special presentations. The Holmes Safety Association, which developed the new "Professional Miner Recognition," exists to promote the safety and health of working miners through the formation of local councils and chapters nationwide.

MSHA is a longtime supporter of the 78-year-old Holmes Safety Association's mine safety and health efforts.

Event: Presentation of New National Miner Recognition Program
Featuring: Assistant Secretary of Labor Dave D. Lauriski
Holmes Safety Association President Doug Conaway
Date: Thursday, Aug. 19, 2004
Time: 10:00 a.m.
Location: National Mine Health and Safety Academy
1301 Airport Road
Beaver, W.Va.