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Response from the New Mexico State Mine Inspector questions 41through47 

41. What criteria and procedures does the State use for certifying persons to perform mine examinations? 

For Mine Examiners 

Age: Must be 20 years of age 
Experience: Must have 2 years ofUG coal mine experience 
Degree: A degree in mining engineering counts as one year of experience 
Required knowledge: Must have UG gas card for 02 deficiency and methane detection from MSHA. Must have current 5000-23 for 
retraining 
Exam: Must pass exam on the following subjects: 

• New Mexico mining safety regulations 
• First Aid 
• Mine Gases 
• The Mine Act 
• Code of Federal Regulations Title 30 
• Part 47 - HazCom 
• Part 48 - Training 
• Part 49 - Mine Rescue 
• Part 50 - Accidents 
• Part 62 - Noise 
• Part 70 - Health 
• Part 75 - Mandatory Safety Standards Underground Coal Mining 
• Qualified/Certified Persons 
• Roof Control 
• Ventilation (includes examiner's report) 
• Combustible Materials and Rock Dusting 
• Electrical 
• Fire Protection 
• Communications 



For Mine Foreman 

Age: Must be 22 years of age 
Experience: Must have 4 years ofUG coal mine experience and serve 6 months as a certified mine examiner 
Degree: A degree in mining engineering counts as two years of experience 
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Required knowledge: Must have UG gas card for 02 deficiency and methane detection from MSHA. Must have current 5000-23 for 
retraining 
Exam: Must pass exam on the following subjects: 

• New Mexico mining safety regulations 
• First Aid 
• Mine Gases 
• The Mine Act 
• Code of Federal Regulations Title 30 
• Part 47 - HazCom 
• Part 48 - Training 
• Part 49 - Mine Rescue 
• Part 50 - Accidents 
• Part 62 - Noise 
• Part 70 - Health 
• Part 75 - Mandatory Safety Standards Underground Coal Mining 
• Qualified/Certified Persons 
• Roof Control 
• Ventilation (includes underground ventilation map) 
• Combustible Materials and Rock Dusting 
• Electrical 
• Fire Protection 
• Communications 

42. If the State requires that certified persons renew their certifications, what procedures are used for a renewal 
of a certification? Does the State recognize or accept other State certifications? Please provide examples. 

Relative to recertification the New Mexico Administrative Code Requires: 

19.6.4.11 CERTIFICATION PERIOD AND RECERTIFICATION PROCESS: 
A. Certification of officials shall be issued for a period of five years. All officials certified by the 
state mine inspector prior to June 15, 2007 shall have their certification period extended five years. Each official is required to have 
retraining as a qualified/certified person on an annual basis from the mine in which they are employed as required in 30 CFR 75.160, 
30 CFR 75.161and30 CFR 77.107 and 30 CFR 77.107-l. Failure to have re-training as a qualified/certified person on an annual basis 
may result in suspension of certification. 
B. Each official has the responsibility to notify the state mine inspector of any change in address or 
change in mine employment within thirty days of such change. Failure to provide current contact information may result in suspension 
of certification. 
C. Certified persons may apply for recertification within twelve months prior to the end of the 
certification period. Every certification shall automatically expire on the last day of the certification period ifthe official has not 
recertified prior to that date. Recertification will require the applicant to submit an application and appropriate documentation as 
required by the state mine inspector. 
D. Recertification may be done by taking an exam every five years, prior to certification expiration, 
or an organization may submit an alternative plan for the inspector's approval as follows: 
(1) officials taking an exam every five years will follow the same process required for original 
certification; or 
(2) an organization may submit an alternative plan, for the state mine inspector's approval; the 
alternative plan may be carried out over the five year period; the alternative plan shall include the subjects to be covered, the minimum 
amount of time per subject, the methods of instruction, and the methods of participant evaluation during process completion; 
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following completion, the applicant shall provide the state mine inspector with verification that all training for the recertification 
period is current; and 
(3) applicants shall submit an application, pay the applicable fee, and provide all appropriate 
documentation as required by the state mine inspector, before receiving recertification. 
E. Mine examiners may fulfill the recertification requirements for mine examiner by successfully 
completing the examination for mine foreman certification or recertification. 

Relative to reciprocity, the State Mine Inspector may recognize certifications from other states. However that is not the practice. 
Current practice is to allow testing based on certification by another state and a check with that state's program to ascertain that the 
certification is in good standing. 

43. If the State also has a decertification program, what criteria and procedures are used to suspend or decertify 
a person's certification? What procedures are used to recertify a person after a suspension or decertification? 

Relative to decertification and procedures to recertify the New Mexico Administrative Code states the 
following: 

19.6.4.12 REFUSAL TO CERTIFY OR RECERTIFY AND SUSPENSION OR REVOCATION OF 
CERTIFICATION: 
A. The inspector may refuse to certify or recertify or may suspend or revoke any certification held or 
applied for under 19.6.4 NMAC upon grounds that the applicant or certified person: 
(1) gave false or forged evidence to the inspector to obtain certification; 
(2) is grossly negligent or incompetent in duties as a certified person; 
(3) has failed to maintain certification; 
(4) has violated or aided or abetted any person in a violation of the Federal Mine Safety and Health 
Act of 1977 or the New Mexico mine safety laws; or 
(5) has been disciplined in another state that certifies mine personnel. 
B. If the inspector contemplates taking any of the actions described in Subsection A of 19 .6.4.12 
NMAC for any of the reasons provided in that subsection, the inspector shall provide written notice to the applicant 
or certified person. The notice shall include a statement that the inspector has sufficient evidence that, if not 
rebutted or explained, will justify the inspector in taking the contemplated action, that indicates the general nature of 
the evidence and that provides the applicant or certified person at least twenty days to submit written evidence to 
rebut or explain the allegations. 
C. If, after the response period ends, the state mine inspector takes any action of a type specified in 
Subsection B of 19 .6.4.12, the inspector shall serve upon the applicant or certified person a written notice of the 
action containing a statement that the applicant or certified person may file a petition for review with the mining 
safety board pursuant to the Mining Safety Act 69-8-1NMSA1978. 
[19.6.4.12 NMAC - N, 10/01/10] 
19.6.4.13 APPEAL TO MINING SAFETY BOARD OF CERTIFICATION ACTIONS BY 
INSPECTOR TO MINING SAFETY BOARD: An appeal of an inspector's action may be made to the board by 
the person affected by the action. 
A. A person affected by the inspector's action shall file a written petition for review of the action 
within twenty days after service of the action. Unless a timely written appeal for review is made, the action of the 
inspector shall be final and not subject to judicial review. 
B. The petition shall be filed in writing with the chair of the board or the chair's designee, and 
include the action number and the name of the appelate. 
C. If a timely petition is made, the board shall consider the petition at a hearing held no sooner than 
thirty days and no more than ninety days after receipt of the written petition. The board shall notify the petitioner 
and the inspector of the date, time and place of the hearing at which the petition will be considered. 
D. No board member with any financial interest affected or potentially affected by the outcome of an 
adjudicatory proceeding may serve as a hearing officer in that proceeding or otherwise participate in the hearing. 
All board members shall adhere with the Governmental Conduct Act. 
E. The board shall review the record compiled before the inspector and shall allow any party to 
submit arguments at the hearing. 
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F. Within 20 days following the hearing the board shall render a written decision affirming, 
modifying or reversing the action of the inspector, and stating reasons for that action. The decision shall be signed by the board chair 
or the chair's designee, and shall be served on both parties within 30 days after the decision is rendered and signed. A person who is 
adversely affected by a decision of the board pursuant to this section may appeal to the district court pursuant to the provisions of 
Section 39-3-1.l NMSA 1978. 

44. How does the State notify mine operators and other States that it has decertified or recertified a person to 
conduct mine examinations? What types of actions are taken by other States based on your State's 
decertification? 

New Mexico notifies the mine operators by sending a copy of the Notice of Action to the operator and to the MSHA Field Office 
Supervisor. We do not notify other states. In discussions with MSHA 4 years ago the state programs requested that MSHA initialize a 
national data base to which the states could report revocation-decertification actions. The states could then report and access the 
database when considering certification actions. To date MSHA has not undertaken any activity in this regard. If New Mexico is 
presented with a certification from another state, that state agency is contacted to check on the standing of the certification. 

In addition, MSHA requests the following information: 

45. What criteria should a miner meet to be a certified person to conduct mine examinations under 30 CFR 
75.100, e.g., minimum age, years of experience, education, knowledge, training, and other skills? 

As the New Mexico State Mine Inspector it is my belief that the New Mexico criteria are reasonable expectations. I also believe that 
the states should set the requirements that they believe are necessary according to the conditions prevailing in that state. 

46. What criteria and procedures would you recommend for the (revocation) of a person's certification? What 
criteria and procedures would you recommend for recertification? Please, include time frames for 
recertification. 

As the New Mexico State Mine Inspector it is my belief that the New Mexico criteria for decertification-revocation are reasonable 
expectations. Further, this criteria as well as criteria for recertification should be set by the states based on the requirements that they 
believe are necessary according to the conditions prevailing in that state. The certifying agency should also be given latitude to 
exercise judgment according to the circumstances that initiated the decertification-revocation action. There should not be set 
timeframes. Again, depending on the circumstances, recertification may never be an option. 

MSHA has accepted certifications by the states since the initiation of the 1977 Mine Act. States have been managing this process for 
far longer than MSHA has been in existence. In New Mexico the certification program was initiated in 1933. It is mystifying why 
MSHA believes it is necessary to micromanage with the federal bureaucracy. 

47. What are the advantages, disadvantages, and administrative costs of having uniform criteria and procedures 
for the certification, decertification, and recertification of persons to conduct mine examinations in underground 
coal mines? 

The state programs who are Interstate Mining Compact Commission (IMCC) members have been through several sets of discussions 
on this issue with MSHA. New Mexico sees no advantages to uniform criteria and procedures. The states are in a better position to 
determine the criteria according to the conditions prevalent in the state. IMCC did request that MSHA create a national database that 
the states could utilize to register their certified coal mine officials and to register decertification-revocation actions. However this 
request has not been acted upon by MSHA. 

Disadvantages are huge. The state's certification language is set in statute and regulation. Any changes that the federal government 
would make to instituted "common core requirements" would create large cost to state governments to make the necessary changes 
within their respective legislatures and administrative law divisions. I would estimate New Mexico's cost at $100,000. 
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There is also no advantage along the lines ofreciprocity. It is realized that this may be an issue in the West Virginia, western areas of 
Virginia and Eastern Kentucky areas and perhaps in other contiguous eastern states. It is not an issue in the west. Mining conditions 
vary greatly according to geography and the states should have the latitude to determine the requirements for certification. 

I know of no circumstances where the certification requirements of the states have resulting in a single fatality. Certified individuals 
failing to perform their duty is, and will always be an area that has and will continue to cause accidents and possible fatalities. 
However that has nothing to do with the process. While there have been cases of false certifications, nothing in the certification 
process can change cases of intentional fraud of forgery of certifications. 

Sincerely, 

Terence 
Foreback 
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Terence Foreback 

New Mexico State Mine Inspector 


